Medical Care Advisory Committee (MCAC)

The role of the Medical Care Advisory Committee Members are as follows:

  1. Recommend actions concerning difficult treatment modalities for beneficiaries
  2. Assist with coverage issues relating to Kansas Medicaid to inform policy development and program administration
  3. Educate beneficiaries for various clinical issues
  4. Recommend courses of action for difficult cases
  5. Recommend criteria for selected prior authorization issues

These issues are discussed in aggregate and not on a member by member basis.  The MCAC should not discuss any information considered PHI or PII as defined by federal regulations.



Meeting Minutes:

KanCare Medical Care Advisory Committee (MCAC) Membership

Beth Raines

Supervisor with Episcopal Social Services Breakthrough Club

Wichita, Kansas

Beth.Raines@esswichita.org

Brandan Kennedy, M.D.

Director, Medical Informatics, Inpatient Medicine; Pediatric Hospitalist; Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine

b1kennedy@cmh.edu

Donna Sweet, M.D.

Professor of Medicine at University of Kansas Medical Center, Wichita, Kansas

dsweet@kumc.edu

Jacqueline Dyke

Self directs her services through OCCK, DPOK CDDO Area.

jdyke1987@gmail.com

 

Jeff Pierce, Pharm.D.

Clinical Coordinator for Lawrence Memorial Hospital’s Pharmacy Department

jeff.pierce@LMH.org

Pam Shaw, M.D.

Professor of Medicine, Vice-chair Education, Medical Director of the Neis Clinical Skills Lab, Phase II Director

University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, Kansas

pshaw@kumc.edu

Sallie Page-Goertz, MN APRN, IBCLC

Clinical Associate Professor School of Medicine
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, The University of Kansas Health System

spage@kumc.edu

Suzanne Stocker

Member of Breakthrough Club

Wichita, Kansas

wichitasue1951@hotmail.com

 

Dr. John Esslinger, M.D. MMM

 Medicaid Medical Director,KDHE/DHCF

John.Esslinger@ks.gov

Rick Hoffmeister, BSN, RN 

Clinical Supervisor, KDHE/DHCF

Rick.Hoffmeister@ks.gov

Victor Nguyen, Pharm.D. 

Pharmacy Program Assistant Manager, KDHE/DHCF

Victor.Nguyen@ks.gov

Janice Panichello, PhD, MPA
Senior Health Care Data Analyst, KDHE/DHCF

Janice.Panichello@ks.gov

Christina Orton, MSW 

Mental Health Program Manager, KDADS

Christina.Orton@ks.gov

Joe Winslow, LMHT

Children’s Community & Inpatient Program Manager, KDADS

Joseph.Winslow2@ks.gov

Medical Care Advisory Committee (MCAC) Regulations